Real Estate

Mobile voters go to polls Tuesday in municipal election

Incumbent Sandy Stimpson, left, and challenger Sam Jones brace for a mayoral debate held Aug. 14 at Davidson High School. (John Sharp/

Mobile’s voters go to the polls Tuesday to determine who will serve as mayor for the next few years, and to settle races for five of seven City Council seats.

Polling places will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. In contrast to national and countywide elections, which are run by Mobile County Probate Court officials, Tuesday’s municipal election is run by the Mobile City Clerk’s office. Full election information, including a search that helps voter find their polling places, can be found on the city’s website.

Monday, Aug. 21, is the last day to apply for emergency absentee ballots, for voters whose employers require them to be out of the county on election day. Absentee ballots returned by mail must be postmarked by Monday and received by noon on Tuesday, Aug. 22. The deadline for hand-delivery of absentee ballots is the close of business on Monday.

In the mayor’s race, Sandy Stimpson has three challengers in his bid to secure a second term: Donavette Ely, Sam Jones and Anthony Thompson. Jones is a former two-term mayor who lost the 2013 race to Stimpson.

District 1: Incumbent Fred Richardson has announced that he intends for his next term to be his last. He has three challengers: Perry Berens, Timothy Hollis and Cory Penn.

District 2: Incumbent Levon Manzie was not challenged.

District 3: Incumbent C.J. Small faces a challenge from Leola L. Chaney.

District 4: Robert Martin is campaigning for the seat occupied by John Williams.

District 5: Challenger Arianna McArthur is running against incumbent Joel Daves.

District 6: Incumbent Bess Rich has one challenger, Deryl Pendleton.

District 7: Council President Gina Gregory was unopposed.

Major endorsements:

Stimpson has been endorsed by the Mobile Police Association, the Mobile County Law Enforcement Association, Mobile Fire & Rescue Local 1349 and the Mobile Citizens’ Police Academy Association.

Jones has been endorsed by public transit workers in the Amalgamated Transit Union Local 770 and two organizations of docks workers, International Longshoremen Association Local 1410 and Local 1984. He also has the support of County Commissioner Merceria Ludgood and a quartet of local state legislators: Sen. Vivian Davis Figures and reps James Buskey, Napoleon Bracy and Barbara Drummond.

On Friday Matt Williams, president of the Mobile Firefighters Association, appeared with Fred Richardson to say that the association had endorsed Richardson and all other City Council incumbents.

The Mobile County Sheriff’s Office identified the victim in a fatal shooting at 5750 Alice Lane on Sunday (August 20) evening as 21-year-old Jeffrey Shawn Sanford.

Source Article